Skip to content

Grafted Golden Delicious

April 5, 2009

My friend and band-mate Sam generously gifted me this piece of M-7 rootstock with three golden delicious apple buds grafted onto it.  Sam’s horticulture class at Parkland College was doing a unit on grafting and he wanted to share what he was learning with me and La Casa.  We grafted on two dormant buds in Sam’s kitchen Friday afternoon and I biked home with it all smiles.  I’m keeping it in the sunny room with the seed starts until its ready to move outside.

The golden delicious graft with the seedlings in the background.  Three buds were grafted onto the rootstock.  I did the top bud and Sam the middle.  After the buds grow the green on top will be cut off.

The golden delicious graft with the seedlings in the background. Three buds were grafted onto the rootstock. I did the top bud and Sam the middle. After the buds grow the green on top will be cut off.

No comments yet

Leave a comment