Skip to content

Adventures of Sophie, May 28, 2009

May 28, 2009

soph1Sophie’s been home for like a day, in the care and keeping of her human’s fellow LaCasans, and namely me in this case because I’m the only one home at the moment. I rather promptly lost her. Don’t worry, I found her and have already paid my Karmic debt for losing her to begin with.

I came home from a root canal this morning (Karmic payment for something else) and had some groceries, so I propped the back door open to ease bringing them in and then spaced it out. Sophie came to visit me in my room at one point and she was a bit wet. I figured JP had taken her for a walk before he left and she was still damp from the rain wet grass. Considerably later I decided to eat something as my mouth was losing it’s numbness and I figured I could eat without choking or biting my tongue off without noticing. So, I’m fixing my food and start wondering where Sophie is. She rarely, or never, misses out on any kind of food preparation. I called for her and then noticed the back door, still propped open. Crap. I went out to the back yard and called and called to no avail. So, I got her leash, hopped on my bike and began a loosely systematic search of the neighborhood while all the worst case scenarios swirled through my mind, getting my mental knickers in a twist.

I’d searched half the neighborhood when fortune seemed to smile on me. I noticed a Sophie-sized and beagle-shaped dog just across Maple Street. But, no, it was the wrong color. I called, “Sophieeee!” and it almost looked up from whatever it was intently rooting around in. Oh, it was Sophie. Hmmm. I called a couple more times and finally she came home with me. BUT! Really, she was the wrong color. Much more of a solid shit brown than the tri-colored pretty pup she usually is. And not only that, but didn’t smell like Sophie, even on a bad day. She smelled much more like the lower intestine of a bovine than a dog. I have no doubt in my mind that it was one of the greatest moments of her life to find someones manure pile. She showed her delight and excitement by grinding manure deep, deep, deeeeeep into every single inch of her little dog body. Not a spot was unsullied by poop. And I don’t mean the well composted stuff that doesn’t stink that much.

So, yeah,I gave her a bath. Frankly one bath did not do it. She’s still slightly unSophie colored and definitely still has a powerful odiferousness, but for chrissake, I just had a freakin’ root canal, so I’m not overly excited about bathing her repeatedly. But I might.

She’s bummed. I’ve washed some of the stinky goodness from her that she so assiduously collected and now I won’t let her lie on my bed. I’m letting her lie on Andrew’s, though (please forgive me whilst I inexplicably snicker here). Sorry Andrew. Hopefully it’ll all air out by the time you and Jacob get home. I wouldn’t hold my breath if I were you, though. Or I guess I would.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink*
    May 28, 2009 8:55 pm

    HAHAHAHA!!!

    More like misadventures.

    Oh, Sophie.

    • vagabondbee permalink*
      May 28, 2009 10:05 pm

      Adventures of Sophie, misadventures of me.

Leave a Reply

