Skip to content

La Casa Real Food Olympics: Mayonnaise!

February 4, 2011

For a while now I’ve imagined a sort of La Casa Real Food Olympics:  a series of foods that we in “this” “culture” usually buy already made, but which could be made from scratch, that every green La Casan would go through the experience of making from scratch just for the fun of it.

I just brainstormed 10 things that I have personally known people ’round here to make, excluding alcoholic fermentations:

  1. Mayonnaise
  2. Komboucha
  3. Yogurt
  4. Bread
  5. Granola
  6. Ginger ale
  7. Pesto
  8. Ice Cream
  9. Seitan
  10. Kimchi

I don’t know if this is the optimal order of execution, but it’s clear that making these all from scratch at least once would be a substantial accomplishment of (s)elf-reliance.  Of these, I have only made mayonnaise and bread.  Tonight, I teamed up with Kim (La Casa ’08 welcome back to town Kim!) to make both mayonnaise and bread again, but the bread didn’t turn out perfect, so let’s talk about the mayonnaise!

Like Kristina before me,  I used the basic mayonnaise recipe from Mark Bittman’s How To Cook Everything: mix an egg, some lemon juice, some mustard, maybe some salt and pepper to taste in a food processor. Pour in a cup of olive oil in a slow stream—if you pour too fast you’ll get runny mayo! This time I used half olive, half canola oil, but it still tasted too too extra virgin for me. Still, one of the better batches I’ve made.

NOT a photogenic food

I used the mayonnaise in Deviled Eggs, which of course involve more eggs and more mustard.  They turned out great:

 

Delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

